top of page

Summer Northern Alberta Wedding // Menno + Carri


This couple... I know I say all my couples are adorable and they're all so cute. I'm not lying when I say that each of their stories are so unique and so the same in many ways. But Menno & Carri will always have an incredibly special place in my heart!

My mama & Menno's mama are best friends and so our families have always been close in a way that has made Menno feel like family. When he started dating Carri I was so excited for them I saw how happy they made each other! So when Carri asked if I would photograph their wedding day I was ecstatic!!

Menno & Carri got married in June of 2019, in May the Chuckegg wildfire became a huge threat to our small community & surrounding areas. In fact the week before the wedding most of Menno's neighbours were evacuated and Menno's family was put on evacuation alert so they were all packed and ready to evacuate. So... the goal on the wedding day became to just get through the ceremony. To get this couple married if we had to leave during the day we could do the remainder of the day at a different time.

Their day started with a lot of nerves about the situation brewing. It was windy and hot which was a threat. I could see as Carri began to get her hair done all these feeling melted away she was just excited to marry her love! As a photographer I was incredibly nervous but I never ever want my brides to know this so I did my best to keep it together for my couple.

Just as the ceremony began we all received and alert, our whole community was now on alert. We were supposed to be ready to leave in an hour. (This does not mean we had to leave in the hour just if we were alerted again that we had an hour to leave, I did not know this at the time so it definitely didn’t help the nerves!) The ceremony proceeded and this love became one! You will see in the photos the excitement as they finish the ceremony! The goal of the day had happened! This lovely couple was married!!

At our consultation Carri told me how much she loved her co-workers and her job so she wanted to do a quick trip to her workplace to say "hi" to everyone. I always do my best to make these dreams come true. I always strive to make your day run as smoothly as possible and bring your dreams to reality!

As we were finishing up the bride and groom formals the biggest clouds came rolling in and before we were even done the family formals the rain came streaming down! I rejoiced and praised God!! We had been praying for rain for weeks already to nourish our dry land!

All in all Menno & Carri's day was so special in so many ways. I will always remember this wedding but pray we don't have to do it again.

This day was made a lot easier thanks to my second shooter Jena Friesen From Jena Kelly Photography https://www.instagram.com/jenakellyy/?hl=en

Brides Hair was done by Judith Braun From Cutting Edge https://www.instagram.com/hair_by_judithb/?hl=en

Some of the Bridesmaids hair was done by Shanice Doerksen https://www.instagram.com/lavish.lockss/?hl=en

Groom/Groomsmen Attire https://www.mooresclothing.com/

Bridesmaids Dresses https://adressyoccasion.com/

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page